The Watcher

Posted on

image

The Watcher
I’ve just completed my latest crow drawing. Graphite and pencil on paper,  it is another in my series of drawings examining our relationship with nature. I’m told my drawings are dark and depressing but I am not concerned about that. Graphite always has an eerie edge to it anyway and my love of corvids as a subject matter was never going to make for a pretty picture. I draw them because they are such beautiful birds and so seeped in metaphor.
The Watcher watches us watching ourselves. The crow was observing us at the beginning of time and will no doubt be there at the end. However much we screw up his world he thrives. Living off us,  beside us and yet apart. Watching.

Leave a Reply

